Getting Grounded

shoesonbeach
Photo by Alysia Thomas

I feel like I have been afloat on a journey that took me on a different route, but now I have landed. When we challenge ourselves in an academic or physical manner, other goals and our regular lives get disrupted or put on the back burner.

This recently happened with me and now that I’m back to the normal rhythms of my life, I need to become grounded and prioritize what I want to be in my life–what is next on my path.

My meditation this morning was about being in the present. The narrator had me look around and absorb what I saw. I had a mini-panic attack, because my office area was a tad bit messy. Not to the degree it has been, but it needs a clearing out. But then she said to embrace it and not use this time as an escape. That actually calmed me. I often use anything I do to escape what may be stressful in my life. And that can be OK–like when you read a great book and become a part of that world or do an exercise that completely takes all your attention or do an activity that you are focused on. You aren’t thinking about your problems or the bazillion activities you have to do. You are in the moment.

Life doesn’t get less stressful. By becoming more grounded and planted in the moment, the craziness and the mess won’t throw us off. We don’t need to escape; we only need to embrace where we are and then act based on our priorities.

My priority is to keep the space that finishing my goal has given me, and only fill some of the time with something that means the world to me. Being with my son while he is home for the summer is a priority. It’s a fleeting moment having him home, and I want to ¬†embrace it and be present.

What grounds you? What do you want to embrace right now? What goal are you working toward? How does it serve your purpose or fulfill you?

Leave a Reply

