Special Places

Libraries have always held a special place in my heart. I remember visiting my hometown library in Greenville, taking out all the Nancy Drew books, and sitting for hours solving the mysteries. 

In college, I spent most of my time in the library studying, working on group projects, and researching for the many papers I had to write. I had this khaki duffle bag that was my Uncle Steve’s. When I had a paper due, I’d go to the library, take every book out on the topic, and print any articles on microfiche. I’d carry that filled duffle back to my dorm just as excited as Nancy Drew wondering what clues I would find to support my thesis. 


When I moved to Clifton Park, one of my first tasks was to get a library card. When my boys were born, they came with me to the library multiple times a week. Then just like in college, we brought tons of books home and discovered magical worlds between the pages. 

When I started to work at the library, it became even more sacred. I love helping the patrons, greeting them with a smile, and talking about books. Teaching writing classes here is an important and precious part of my connection. 


If you haven’t been to the Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library make a point to visit this special place in town. And don’t forget to take out a book!

What is your special place or favorite book?

Leave a Reply

