Be a Yes!

being of power

Be a Yes is the first practice in Baron Baptiste’s book Being of Power. It’s my second time reading it, and I’m amazed at how I pick up more tips from where I am now in my life. Being a yes doesn’t mean saying yes to everything that crosses your desk.

I have to admit, this has been a default of mine for my entire life. Part of it is because I have so much I want to accomplish and fulfill in this life. I’m inspired and excited about many possibilities. The problem though is that it can become different to be effective and finish what I start.

It means saying yes to what brings out your authentic self and not adding filters into your life. Baron writes, “It’s about being confident in your ability to turn difficult into possibility, upsets into positive energy, and breakdowns into breakthroughs.” (2)

Being a yes is how you view and react what is happening around and to you. There isn’t one person I know who hasn’t been touched by either illness, loss, tragedy, mental illness, or injury. It’s a part of our lives. There may be a time when we can’t do what we always use to do. Perhaps it’s because of age or illness or lack of time. We have the choice to ignore our truth, push through, and further damage ourselves or we can be with where we are.

When we can be with where we are, all of a sudden there is space for what we can be a yes to! Let me give you an example. I have severe food allergies as I have said before and obviously it plays a huge part in my life, because it always comes up!

I’m allergic to peanuts to the point of anaphylaxis so I carry an epipen and a ton of Children’s meltable Benadryl. I’m allergic to all other nuts, milk, tomatoes in the spring (don’t feed me tomatoes right now!), melon, cherries or anything connected to ragweed in the fall. I’m intolerant to gluten and all seafood. Not only do I have allergies, but I have chosen to only eat fish. So eating out with me is an experience!

Believe me. I have fought these food allergies all my life. I will try milk and wish that I would learn my lesson (never feed me key lime pie!) When I am being authentic and a Yes, I find recipes that incorporate all the foods I can eat. I have made some amazing gluten free, dairy free lasagna (at least I think it’s amazing!). I eat soy yogurt with a vegan granola. I enjoy spaghetti squash stuffed with lentils. There are so many incredibly delicious foods I can eat. I have turned a difficult situation into a possibility of exploration.

If I say yes to what I can eat, then as Baron writes, “…you’re also saying no to resignation, cynicism, and self-sabotage.” (3)

Self-sabotage is the opposite of this practice. It feeds on our self-doubt and negativity. It’s a practice, because we always have to work on it, but it’s worth it.

What are you a yes to? What difficulty are you having in your life that you can turn around into a possibility? Put that possibility into action and revel in the new experience.

Leave a Reply

