Simply Snow

Depending on your perspective, where you had to be, and how much you like snow, today was either a good or bad day. I watched the news for a bit, and the reporters covered how nice it is for some to stay at home, but emergency technicians have to be out to help others in need. They don’t get a choice and are to be commended for their dedication.

Then on Facebook I saw a video of the City Mission of Schenectady explaining how their shelters are overflowing and volunteers still show up to feed everyone and lend support. They were grateful that they are able to help others and can only do it because of the support they receive from the community.

I’m sure others were very excited about the snow and braved it to go skiing or snow shoeing, and yet others can’t wait until spring and the warm weather comes.

Being forced to stay home was very productive and calming for me. I was able to get a lot done on a project for my foundation and enjoy watching the snow fall and flit around. My dogs enjoyed the snow, well at least Dakota did.

zoeyandDKsnow
Zoey barely made it off the steps and then ran back in!
DKsnow
Dakota finally came in after he became a snowdon!

As I sit and think about this day and the simplicity of being home, I am thankful for it. I am thankful that I have a warm home to sleep in, that I have food on my table, and that everyone I know is safe.

snow3.14.17

I am grateful for the brave men and women who risk their lives in this weather to save those who are hurt or ill. For years, my mom was an EMT, and we accepted that at all hours of the night she would get called out for emergencies. It takes a special person to be able to handle the tragedies and be able to focus in such difficult situations. I don’t know how she did it, but I was always very proud of her.

I am thankful for those who dedicate their lives in the service of others, and venture out in this weather so that those who are at a hard point in their lives have hope.

I am always thankful for my wonderful dogs who take life in stride and enjoy every moment whether it’s a blizzard or blazing sunshine!

To everyone who has to travel in the next couple days, be safe!

What are you thankful for today?

 

 

Leave a Reply

