Live Concerts

Last night I supported my friend, Karen, on her mission to meet Adam Levine at the Maroon 5 concert at The Times Union Center. I do what needs to be done for my friends! Even though she didn’t get to go on stage and practice yoga with him, I’m sure he sang specifically to her!

maroon5.2
My friend, Heather, had an closeup view!
janineandkarenmaroon5.2
Adam came into the center of the arena just so we could take a picture with him!

The concert was full of energy, and Adam Levine played most of their popular songs, ending with Sugar and a tribute to Prince, which was fabulous!

maroon5.4

Last Sunday Luke and I brought Stephen and his best bud back to college, and their goal was to keep playing songs that Luke and I liked or else they had to turn off their music. They did great playing songs from Red Hot Chili Peppers, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Cream, Pink Floyd (eh), Metallica, various rap songs, and many others. It reminded me of all the great bands that I loved, and we talked about who we had seen in concert.

I think I was 16 when I went to my first concert at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center (SPAC). It was Foreigner and Loverboy. Yes I wore a headband like Mike Reno and was out of my mind screaming.

mikerenoloverboy

Then there was Huey Lewis. I basically cried and sang every word to every song. I was a lovesick hormonal teen and that was what we did. I actually got to meet Huey in college when I went backstage for a promotion. I was much calmer then, but it was still exciting!

Then there was Aerosmith, which I have seen probably 5 or 6 times. One show at SPAC was spur of the moment. My friends and I were cruising back to campus from some getaway, and I saw that Aerosmith was playing. I whipped into the parking lot, and we danced on the lawns. Tickets were so inexpensive then, and there was this safe sense of community that you could just show up and enjoy the show.

I talked through an entire James Taylor concert with my boyfriend at that time. Luckily we were on the lawn at SPAC, but we still got annoyed looks from the crowd around us. What can I say, James inspires you to think deeply.

Most of my concerts were in college. I went to see Stevie Ray Vaughn with my sister, Michele. She was still in high school, and I actually fell asleep during the concert. One too many nights of no sleep really got to me. I wish I had paid better attention, because he passed away. He was a legend.

 

maroon5.3
Great light shows

That made me think of all the bands and performers I wish I had seen. As an adult I got to see JLo and Enrique Iglesias  when I was in Miami, Barry Manilow just a couple years ago. Poor guy could barely move his face. REO Speedwagon with short hair, who performed with Chicago. These concerts were at SPAC, but now I sit in the seats. I need to be comfortable! REO and Chicago were phenomenal. Then there was Janet Jackson, whom I saw in college and was planning to see last summer, but she cancelled.

I wish I had gone to see Bruce Springsteen, but I didn’t appreciate him as a teen. I also regret not going to see Justin Timberlake a couple years ago and Bruno Mars. But I am making up for that as some of my gal pals and I are going to see Bruno Mars this October! Other regrets: Prince, Lynyrd Skynyrd, and Cher. I’m sure there are others.

With the costs of concert tickets now, you really have to want to see someone perform. So when a concert comes up, I ask myself if I’ll regret not seeing this person in their prime. I think Bruno is one of them, although my husband strongly disagrees!

maroon5

I was very happy to see Adam Levine and will listen to more of his music. I like to see how the performer connects with his audience and often wonder how incredible it must feel to be up there singing to the crowd and hearing everyone’s reaction.

I’ll keep enjoying concerts and seeing some older bands, because it reminds me of my teen and young adult years.

Concerts you attend tell a lot about your life story. What was your first concert? How old were you? Where did you live? Why did you like that artist? Who else have you gone to see? Who do you regret not seeing? Can you make it happen? Some of the greats we just have to enjoy on our own, but if you really love an artist, get to their concert. Have no regrets.

Leave a Reply

