Everyone Needs a Tribe

When my son became ill, the first thing I did was gather my tribe. Everything else but the fact that my son had cancer was placed on the back burner. We gathered together even on July 4th when everyone already had plans.

img_3199
The immediate DeTillio, Cammarata, Thomas, Albin, and McCormick clan! 

 

img_7134
Janine, Michele, Stephanie, and Sal gather around our matriarch–Momma Rita!

I remember walking down to Clifton Commons where we always watched the fireworks with my siblings and many of my karate family. The rest of my tribe waited for me and my family on the sidewalks, on the fields, and back at our house offering love, hugs, and comfort.

We heal with love, but underneath that coziness was steel lined with determination. There is nothing more solid than a group of people who will do anything for you, who will pick you up without judgment, and hold you until you can find your feet again.

img_9542
Moms with a purpose and ready to fight for others. 
img_1876
Family by choice!

Throughout Nick’s illness, my tribe, especially including my group of ladies held us up by bringing us food, cleaning my house, taking Stephen when needed, visiting Nick, supporting me and Luke when we were away from each other so much, and emotionally kept us strong.

pigroast059

When Nick passed, my tribe became the glue that kept me and my family together as we shattered apart.

img_4307

They let me grieve and do what I needed to do in order to make sense of this tragedy. Again no judgment. Only patience and love, even as they handled their own loss. That’s how it is with a tribe. The loss of one affects us all.

img_9583

My tribe has grown and our foundation has become stronger.

img_0526

img_5804

salenia

It’s really hard to explain what we have together, but we appreciate the depths of our connections. When one of our tribe suffers, is wronged, or is ill, we feel it to our core. We have known terrible loss, but we have risen up from it to bring beauty, hope, and healing to our world. And whatever may come, we will always fight like the warriors we are.

img_0379

As our tribe continues to grow, know that once a part of the family, always a part of the family. No matter where you may be.

nick-t-shirt
Nick always a part of our tribe.

Who is your tribe? How do you support one another when you need it most? How can you let your tribe know that you are there for them? Write a note of thanks to each of them and how they positively impact your life. You don’t need a large tribe, just enough to get you through the tough times and celebrate in the good.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Everyone Needs a Tribe

  1. What truth!! Our tribe is crazy strong!! I am amazed and in awe of how strong our family is, how expansive it is, how wonderful it is. We all need support at one time or another. I know, KNOW, my family and “family” has my back. What a huge blessing in life!! Love all of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re a lucky person who has a support group of friends and family! So good!! ✨✨✨ I’m sorry to say it’s not my case, while being in a hard episode of depression and anxiety, I just only realized that most of my “friends” were not really. Besides, most of my relatives seem to be blind and deaf to what is going on with my life, so desolation is something else I have to deal with. I hope however that everything goes well with you, Regards!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for responding. That did happen to me also, but I found that by keeping my heart open I found people who empowered me. I hope that happens to you. Journaling can also be a wonderful way to help with what you are going through and write the intention to have kind people come into your life. Keep writing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

