Valentine’s Day

me-and-luke-1990

Luke and I met on December 22, 1988 on a blind date.  A friend that he went to karate class with knew me from high school and thought we would make a great match. We tried a couple times to get together, but weather thwarted our plans. Finally we were set to meet at TGI Fridays in Stuyvesant Plaza. The day before I fell up my stairs (anyone surprised?) and ended up on crutches.

He thought I was going to cancel, but I explained that he would recognize me better by the fact that I was limping. My friend, Lisa, and I got to the restaurant early and waited for him to arrive. Luke drove up in a red Toyota 4 Runner. He wore a long coat over a suit. So far so good.

My hair was curly and shoulder length at that time, and I wore a dark brown bomber jacket, casual top and jeans. I refused to use my crutches so it took a while to walk across the parking lot. It was worth it. When I opened the door, I saw Luke leaning against the wall. He had thick dark hair and a Maverick mustache. I fell immediately (in love that is!) and knew I would marry this man.

We had so much in common, and Luke’s dry sense of humor is one of the reasons I still love him. On our way out, he said, “Nice limp.” Ha! He didn’t know that he would spend a lifetime with a family of accident prone relatives and that it was contagious.

On our first Valentine’s Day, Luke gave me a little teddy bear that had a gold bracelet around his neck. It was such a romantic gesture. We were married two years later.  Through our 28 years together, he continues to surprise me.

Somewhere along the way he created this tradition of giving me Twizzlers on any holiday. Better than flowers that made me sneeze! I’ll write about Twizzlers a different day!

What does today mean to you? It may be just another day or you may want to write about the love of your life.

Leave a Reply

