Being With What Is

ice

I will be the first person to admit that I am a control freak. Not so much that everything has to be in its place (just ask my husband), but more like I need to be involved in anything going on around me. I need to keep striving to improve, fix, and adjust. That’s fine to an extent, but when you wear as many hats as I do, you have to let others take the reins on how something should be done.

When I first began yoga two years ago this month, I struggled with the fact that I couldn’t do many of the poses. I was very inflexible, and the strength I had developed from other forms of fitness didn’t always serve me on the mat. I have always been very competitive and hard on my body.

Yoga exercised my mind and spirit as much as it exercised my body. Eventually I understood two concepts. One, if I stayed in the moment (the pose), I was more aware of what was happening in my body. I relaxed, because I didn’t dwell on what had to be done at home, at work, with my writing, or with my family. I didn’t think. I enjoyed or sweat through the pose I was in.

Two, I accepted what is, which translates to accepting myself. If I fall out of a balancing pose over and over again, it’s all right. I take a deep breath, often laugh, and move on to the next pose or keep trying. When the last pose is done, I go on to the current pose. I don’t think about what comes after, but revel in the joy of being in the moment, of being with what is. Being in the moment and with what is gives me a sense of freedom to explore and releases that need for control all the time.

It can be difficult to do, especially if you are dealing with health issues, loss, or any crisis that bombards your mind. But by being with what is right now, you can live in the present moment and not worry about tomorrow. You can enjoy now.

What can you move aside or let go of, so you can be in this very moment with what is? This may be releasing your expectations of what your body should look like, how your health use to be, or what your life was like. Write about where you are at this very moment only.  Write about how this feels to you.

 

Leave a Reply

