What Will You Bring to the World

acorn

An acorn has everything in it to create an enormous, life-giving oak tree. The oak tree shades, provides air and food, and is a source of beauty and strength. Just as the acorn has everything it needs to grow and give to our world, so do you.

Last night in the first session of my adult journal writing workshop, we did an exercise where we wrote down our positive characteristics, what made us special, and what we valued. The answers were unique and eye opening.

One of my words was joyful. I wrote joyful because when I feel joy, I have hope that the world is a beautiful and kind place, despite sadness and uncertainty we have in our world. It’s wonderful that I feel joy, but how can I bring joy into the world, and why should I?

I have always told my children that no matter what you do, what job you grow up to have, make sure it brings good into the world and makes a difference. I believe that part of our mission on this earth is to grow as souls as well as people and to collectively improve it. There is no better way to improve our world by bringing the positive energy that we all have inside of us to others.

I bring joy to others through my words. Maybe my books and stories are purely entertaining or maybe they touch a person just the right way on a day that they are suffering.

I bring joy to others through laughter. I want to have fun while I’m here, so bringing people together to share laughs and raise spirits is very important to me.

1999-preschool-easter2

I bring joy by letting my light shine and sharing my truth of who I am as a person. This is something that has been hard for me to learn to do, but as I see how I can bring hope to families battling cancer or parents who have lost a child, I feel called to share my light with them.

I bring joy through teaching. My workshop last night was full of energy and happiness (even if there was some uncertainty!) That’s all right, because despite the fact that people weren’t sure about this thing called journaling, they took a class and had fun!

Write down only positive characteristics about you. What makes you special? What is one word your best friend would use to describe you? Take one of these words and write down how you will bring this into the world and what difference it will make to others. I don’t know is not an answer. You have a light in you that is begging to come out! Let is shine and share it.

img_4008

Leave a Reply

