Wolf at my Door

wolf-predator-carnivores-pack-animal-158108I am on a back porch of someone’s house, maybe one of the two women who sit at a table with me. It’s an open screened porch with a screen door to the house. There’s a small hill in the backyard, surrounded by trees and other homes on each side. The women are commenting about all the rabbits in the yard. Then there are squirrels. Suddenly a doe pops through the trees and comes closer to the hill.

Then one of the women whispers, “Wolf.” There are two bordering the tree line. One is brown and smaller, then other darker, bigger, and male. A boy about 3 years old is on the porch. He’s not mine. I grab my phone to take a picture, but just then the brown wolf attacks the doe just as she rests the hill. I yell for the child to get inside. I open the door for him, but don’t follow.

The deer jumps onto the porch. Her back and hind legs are bloody, skin ripped to bone. She pushes her nose against the door, her scared eyes so human. I say no and close the door. I feel for her, but I have to protect the child inside. I don’t know where the wolves are, but my back is to them.

This is a dream that I had last night and the next part of my entry is my response using the Lightning Dreamwork process developed by Robert Moss. It’s an amazing way to use dreams as guidance in your everyday life. For more information go to www.mossdreams.com

Feeling: vulnerable, unsettled, scared. I wasn’t afraid of the deer, but of what was behind me.

Reality: I live near a lot of woods. There have been coyotes and some deer, but not many. I feel it’s more symbolic, like there are wolves at my door.

? What kind of wolves are at my door? Time suckers? Health warnings? Are they reminders to stay on my path? Am I a docile deer running from the world and depending on others to help me and hold me accountable? How can I protect myself?

Action Plan: I am responsible for my own actions and how I spend my time. I know that I am a fixer. I want to fix everything and everyone, but I have to start with me. Eating well, exercising, doing work that I’m passionate about. Protecting my space is a constant theme in my life, so I’ll take action to do that and keep my priorities in front of me. But I can’t ignore what may be sneaking up on me, so I must remain aware of what I say yes to. This may mean saying No more often, giving myself downtime to journal and exercise, and spend time with people I love.

Catch Phrase: Don’t Feed the Wolves!

Keep your journal by your bed and write down any dream you have from the night before. It may be a feeling, a snippet of an image, a whole story. The more you practice, the more dreams you will remember. Then use the questions that I did for my dream. If you keep track of your dreams, themes will appear and you will become your own dream guide.

Leave a Reply

